Opinion - The Outlook http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion Fri, 22 Sep 2017 21:07:44 -0400 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb outlook@monmouth.edu (The Outlook) Is Cursive Still Relevant Today? http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4921-is-cursive-still-relevant-today http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4921-is-cursive-still-relevant-today Cursive is the not writing style of choice for most col­lege students. Most college stu­dents probably have not written in cursive since they initially learned it in grade school.

I remember being very ex­cited to learn this new style because I thought that it meant that I was growing up and be­coming more like an adult. My class learned cursive by tracing the letters that my teacher had already written on the black­board.

I tried my best to follow the swoops and curves. But, I nev­er did get the hang of connect­ing all the letters in one, fluent stroke.

I could read it perfectly, but writing it was another story. I did not see the purpose or func­tionality of writing in such a formal manner.

While we only wrote cursive ­for thirty minutes at school, at home, my mother wrote solely in handwriting. Whether it was the grocery list or a formal let­ter, nothing was in print.

Many of my childhood mem­ories involved writing thank you notes in my finest cursive fashion. My mother always made my siblings and I write in cursive because it was a “nec­essary skill” that I would use later in life. I dreaded writing thank you notes simply because I had to write them in cursive. It was such a long and painful process. It was a nightmare.

After initially learning the cursive alphabet in second grade, it faded into the back­ground. Grade after grade and it was never used.

The last time that I used cur­sive handwriting in a school setting was when I had to copy the legitimacy statement at the beginning of the SATs. Thank­fully, the appearance of my handwriting did not contribute to my overall grade.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (CAROLINE MATTISE | ASSOCIATE OPINION EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 20 Sep 2017 14:23:03 -0400
Today’s Beauty Standards http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4920-today-s-beauty-standards http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4920-today-s-beauty-standards Todays Beauty Standards

Society has been known for its harsh critiques of women’s beauty standards. Constant media ads paint women as perfect models who are always sporting glamor­ized looks and magazine smiles. When women are marketed with flawless makeup and perfectly styled hair, it creates a facade of the ideal women.

This painfully effects the youth by making them want to apply makeup to cover up any perceived imperfections and makes them feel insecure if they do not. This guarantees make-up and other health and beauty product compa­nies a nice steady income, know­ing they will have a solid custom­er base, while adding on teenagers and young adults as well.

Another negative beauty stan­dards thanks to the Hollywood are Photoshop and surgeries over natural/realistic looks. This promotes a negative mentality to youth and women that if they aren’t happy with their appear­ance, they need surgery, or to hide behind a camera filter to mod­ify their looks. Why diet? Why change your lifestyle? Why eat healthy foods? Why exercise, just pay a surgeon and hope it works out for you.

Even if one gets surgery, some quick fixes will not be maintained if they do not change their life­style. They will probably revert back to their old ways, and per­haps recreate the problematic issues that they were trying to avoid.

As a result, they have wasted their money and have exposed themselves to the many compli­cations that can come from that elective surgery, perhaps with no gain.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (MEGAN KUDISCH | CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Opinion Wed, 20 Sep 2017 14:19:41 -0400
Early Bird Gets the Worm http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4919-early-bird-gets-the-worm http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4919-early-bird-gets-the-worm Early Bird Catches WormYou can tell a lot about a person based on where they stand on the subject of morning classes against night classes. It’s true, a lot can be said of your character, priorities and general habits just by showing up to class whether it be at 8:30 a.m. or p.m.

From a commuter’s point of view, morning classes are a saving-grace. While that may seem like a bit of an exaggeration, just think about how frustrating it can be to circle the parking lot for ten minutes, only to realize there are absolutely no open spots.

We’ve all been there and have likely learned our lesson the hard way, its true, the early bird really does catch the worm.

While most may groan at the idea of waking up before 9 a.m., there is something to be said about getting an early start to the day. Now before I begin to sound like your mother, hear me out.

Waking up early provides you with a peace of mind that you’ve got the whole day ahead of yourself. In a perfect world, us college students would love every single class we are taking, adore each professor and be genuinely excited to sit for an hour and twenty minutes. Unfortunately, this is not always the case.

No matter how hard I try, certain subjects will never maintain a firm grasp on both my interest and attention span.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (KIERSTEN BECHT | CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Opinion Wed, 20 Sep 2017 14:14:02 -0400
Natural Disasters Everywhere http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4887-natural-disasters-everywhere http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4887-natural-disasters-everywhere Is There Truth Behind Climate Change?

Natural Disasters EverywhereThe South is flooded and the West is in flames. If there was ever a time to believe in the science of climate change, it is now.

It is amazing that this is a topic that is still up for debate. It is 2017. There have been two hurricanes that destroyed everything in their paths in the last three weeks, and another one is on the way. Hurricane Harvey, Irma, and soon to be Katia have displaced and devastated thousands.

Harvey had winds reached seeds of 132 miles per hour. But this was almost calm compared to what came next, Irma. Irma brought wind with speeds up to 137 miles per hour at landfall and was classified as a Category 5 hurricane when it swept through the Caribbean islands and forced the residents of the state of Florida to evacuate. On islands such as Barbuda, almost all buildings and homes were leveled.

The West is hot, so hot that it is literally on fire. Dozens of wildfires are ablaze across Montana, Oregon, and California. Sure, there are normally wildfires that start because of careless campers or droughts throughout the summer months. But not like this. Who would have thought that after a snowy winter, the West would experience such a hot and dry summer?

Last winter, there were days when the temperatures reached the low sixties. As I walked to class I looked around and saw people in their summer attire. They were donned in their summer skirts and sandals. I know New Jersey is typically warmer than my home in Pennsylvania, but it was not supposed to be that warm. It was January. It was that sweater weather in the morning and tank top in the afternoon kind of weather.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (CAROLINE MATTISE | ASSOCIATE OPINION EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 13 Sep 2017 15:03:34 -0400
Falling in Love with Fall: The Best of the Four Seasons http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4886-falling-in-love-with-fall http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/119-volume-89-fall-2017-spring-2018/4886-falling-in-love-with-fall Falling In Love With FallWhile I agree, it is difficult to watch beach days dwindle down and warm summer nights come to end, I think it is undeniable that Fall is the best season. You have to be lying if you are not ready to trade in hit or miss weather, sweating, and forced family BBQ’s for comfortable weather, hayrides, cozy nights and sweaters.

Fall pulls together all the things we love most. It has plenty of things to do, holidays to celebrate, moments to enjoy and something to offer to everyone! Who doesn’t love the picturesque colors of the leaves on trees, pumpkin spice everything, apple picking, corn mazes, or the tranquil fall weather?

To begin, the orange, red, and yellow leaves that scatter everywhere you go always make such a magical scene. Everywhere you look is a stunning painting! Not much is better than the crunch of the autumn leaves below your feet as you are strolling around. Just simply driving down the road is a great way to take in the amazing views that fall brings with it.

Then there is the incredible crisp Fall weather. It is not too hot, but not too cold; it is the perfect comfortable happy medium. Fall weather means cozy flannels, sweaters, and boots.Fall means earlier, cool nights. Cooler weather also means keeping warm by bonfires with s’mores, warm drinks like hot chocolate and of course, the classic pumpkin spice lattes! 

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (BRETT O’GRADY | GRAPHIC DESIGN & OPINION EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 13 Sep 2017 15:01:57 -0400
I don’t like goodbyes, so I will say see you soon... | Jessica Leahy's Senior Goodbye http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4461-i-don-t-like-goodbyes-so-i-will-say-see-you-soon-jessica-leahy-s-senior-goodbye http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4461-i-don-t-like-goodbyes-so-i-will-say-see-you-soon-jessica-leahy-s-senior-goodbye 4.19.17 J L 1I remember my freshman orientation over the summer like it was yesterday. I remember feeling insecure and nervous around so many smart and capable individuals. I was doubtful of my own capabilities at first, but once I started classes at Monmouth University, I saw how much I could achieve and I grew so much as a person during my time here.

I am proud of myself for remaining strong and pushing through to the end even when I felt like crumbling. However, I must owe a lot of my success and happiness to my family and my friends. I could not do anything without my family and friends by my side guiding me through and believing in me.

Mom & Dad: I want to thank both of you for always loving me and supporting me during my undergraduate career at Monmouth. Thank you for believing in me to achieve my goals and work toward a great future. I love you both more than anyone.

Michael & Anthony: You two are not only my brothers, but my friends for life. I know I will always have you two by my side. I cannot thank you enough for being such great younger brothers.

Krystina & Alyssa: I want to thank you both for being such amazing cousins. You are both practically older sisters to me. You are always there for me when I need you to give me advice, to hang out, to support me, and to have faith in me. Thank you both for keeping me calm throughout the application process for MU and also for graduate school at Rutgers University. Knowing I have two strong women on my side no matter what gives me strength to stand tall and stride toward my goals.

Read More ...

]]>
s1049128@monmouth.edu (JESSICA LEAHY | ADVERTISING MANAGER) Opinion Thu, 20 Apr 2017 14:36:55 -0400
Closing Time…I Love You, Monmouth | Lauren Niesz's Senior Goodbye http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4441-closing-time-i-love-you-monmouth http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4441-closing-time-i-love-you-monmouth “Closing time, open all the doors and let you out into the world…”

I am so lucky to have been a part of Monmouth University. I am so lucky to have been a copy editor, writer, opinion and senior editor at The Outlook. I am so lucky to have been a lead commuter student mentor. I am so lucky to have worked for the Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering. The only thing I can really say definitively is that I am the luckiest girl in the whole world and I truly believe that.

There are so many people that were pivotal in making these past four years the most enjoyable and happiest four years of my entire life. This article is for you all because you are all so extremely important to me.

Alright, Drennan- you knew you’d be first. Thank you for sliding into my DMs Sophomore year and forcing me to be your friend. And thanks for screaming “Hey girl!” across the JP parking lot at me the first day of classes at 8:30 in the morning. I never thought that that “hey” would be the beginning of a completely unique and unbreakable friendship.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (LAUREN NIESZ | CO-SENIOR EDITOR & OPINION EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 19 Apr 2017 17:02:30 -0400
The Many Types of College Professors: This is What I’ve Learned... http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4427-the-many-types-of-college-professors http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4427-the-many-types-of-college-professors Types of College Professors

In four years of higher education, I have had every kind of professor you can think of. From the super chill guy who’s just happy when you show up to class, to the really sweet one who seems easy but will take points off if you decide to slack off. There are tons of different types of professors.

There are so many types of professors and I just want to thank them all for not only teaching me the course objectives, but for teaching me a thing or two about life in some way.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (NICOLE SEITZ | COPY EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 19 Apr 2017 16:25:09 -0400
Making a ‘Major’ Decision http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4425-making-a-major-decision http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4425-making-a-major-decision One of the most challenging decisions that you have to make in college is choosing your major. With several different majors, concentrations, and minors that you can choose from, you can make your degree the perfect fit for you.

It’s stressful when you’re trying to declare your major because it’s important to most to try to graduate on time. A student at Monmouth can stay undeclared until their sophomore year, or when they complete 56 credits.

Monmouth has an office of undeclared services to help students who have not yet decided their major. They offer career planning guides and workshops that help students decide on a major and they are advised through the Center for Student Success.

Friends and family try to help, but sometimes their direction can lead you the wrong way. Those who care about you are usually trying to be helpful, but they may advise you to choose a major based on the average salary a person who graduates with that major makes.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (AMANDA DRENNAN | VIEWPOINT EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 19 Apr 2017 16:20:09 -0400
Life Lessons for an MU Student From Lilo and Stitch http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4424-life-lessons-for-an-mu-student-from-lilo-and-stitch http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4424-life-lessons-for-an-mu-student-from-lilo-and-stitch Life Lessons Lilo and StitchWhile, “It’s nice to live on an island with no large cities,” according to Lilo, we can’t all have that luxury. As the singing and pounding of drums in Hawaiian fashion hum in the background, Lilo and Stitch and their shenanigans share with us life lessons meant to last forever.

It’s okay to be a little weird or different.

We weren’t made to fit in, biologically, physically, emotionally, we’re all meant to be different. In a world where we are all the same, life would get boring quickly. Whether your interests include dancing, writing, sports, etc. follow them! Many people are afraid of following their passion because college is stereotyped as either the time to focus only on studies, or a time where everything lets loose--a happy medium is best for all.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (ALEXANDRIA AFANADOR | CO-FEATURES & PHOTOGRAPHY EDITOR) Opinion Wed, 19 Apr 2017 16:18:22 -0400
Accepting Tattoos http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4399-accepting-tattoos http://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/88-volume-88-fall-2016-spring-2017/4399-accepting-tattoos Tattoos are becoming more common in today’s society and college students, recent high school grads and millennials are getting inked. The odds of knowing someone with a tattoo, or multiple tattoos are extremely high. It has become more commonplace for people to want to get something tattooed on their bodies and show off their personal artwork.

Personally, I never thought I would want a tattoo, but over the past couple of years I have actually gotten several. When I first asked my mother for permission for getting a tattoo, her response was, “Why don’t you just draw a picture of what you want and hang it on your wall? Don’t you think that’s a better place for art?” Clearly, her opinion on getting inked is very different from mine.

After a couple of conversations with her, she realized why I wanted one so badly, and she finally gave in. Originally, I thought I just wanted the one small finger tattoo and it would be done. Everyone said it was addicting and that I would want more, and it turns out they were right. Today, I have four tattoos and they all mean something different to me.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (DANIELLE ROMANOWSKI | STAFF WRITER) Opinion Wed, 12 Apr 2017 20:13:05 -0400