Editorial - The Outlook https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial Fri, 17 Nov 2017 11:25:58 -0500 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb outlook@monmouth.edu (The Outlook) Daylight Savings Time: Is it Worth it? https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5192-daylight-savings-time-is-it-worth-it https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5192-daylight-savings-time-is-it-worth-it Twice a year, we must remind ourselves to change the clocks and get used to a new schedule.

It’s Daylight Savings Time (DST): an annual obligation to adjust to brighter mornings in the summer or darker evenings in the winter, and more people question its relevance to our modern society.

In its conception, DST was useful for agricultural societies in which farmers utilized brighter mornings to work longer on their harvest and spend less time doing so in the evening.

Consequently, the hours in the winter were changed since the harvest had been completed. Now that we live in an industrialized country, is DST truly necessary?

Throughout the years, some believe that the intent of DST has changed in accordance to our society’s needs.

Now that our populations have grown significantly, technology has caught up with us and DST is only a part of that initial harvesting process. This extra hour could also provide more time for other individual activities.

In addition to being a part of agricultural practices, many of us at The Outlook associate DST with more daylight hours in the summer.

The clocks move one hour forward, providing extra daylight in the evening for different events. This seems to be a more preferred time change. One editor said, “It would be better for there to be more light at night to prolong the day for people who are at work/school all day.”

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 15 Nov 2017 10:30:19 -0500
Preventing Sexual Assault through Sexual Education https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5155-preventing-sexual-assault-through-sexual-education https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5155-preventing-sexual-assault-through-sexual-education In recent years, the conversation surrounding sexual assault has become something that is more widely accepted. Victims are encouraged to come forward, forming a community of survivors with new stories coming out every day.

One statistic from Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN), the nation’s largest anti-sexual violence organization, says that every 98 seconds, an American is sexually assaulted.

This number has left humanity alarmed, but also scratching their heads. How do we fix this? This question leaves us frustrated and constantly searching for a complex solution when in reality, the problem could be as simple as the sexual education kids receive in their schooling prior to college.

When asked about the quality of sexual education she received prior to Monmouth, one editor stated, “I think mine, frankly, was pretty terrible. We basically learned about Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD), but didn’t learn how they were passed on or how they could be prevented, it was generally pretty awful, and some things were never covered. We did have a decent amount of time set aside for health, but it usually focused on drugs, alcohol, etc.”

This editor attended a public school; usually, people assume that the abstinence-preaching approach to sexual education is only in private Catholic high schools, but the reality is, it can happen anywhere.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 08 Nov 2017 10:03:31 -0500
Tricks, Treats, and Misappropiation https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5119-tricks-treats-and-misappropiation https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5119-tricks-treats-and-misappropiation Cultural appropriation is described as the act of taking or using things from a culture that is not your own, especially without showing understanding or respect of and for the culture. Halloween has been a special time of year for not just tricks and treats but also for the conversation of ethics and morals when it comes to culturally appreciative or misappropriating costumes.

“Cultural appropriation is when someone does not know the cultural significance of something (i.e. religious symbol, traditional clothing) and wears it just for the ‘look’ or seeming ‘exotic’ and/or mocking the culture. Cultural appreciation, however, is when members of another cultural background allow you to partake in practices that involve significant symbols, clothing, etc. in order to respect their cultural norms and values,” one editor explained.

 

Recently, the debate has been about children wearing Disney princess Moana costumes and whether this is cultural appropriation or not. While The Outlook editors agree that this is not the case, there is a consensus of understanding the fine line, or at times blurred line, where a costume can be cultural misappropriation and where it can be appreciated and valued.

 

One editor said, “Halloween costumes are one of the most significant and visible ways we partake in cultural appropriation. These costumes, such as cowboys and Indians, are normalized so that people don’t question how those who belong to that culture might be affected by seeing their culture misappropriated/sexualized.”

 

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 01 Nov 2017 09:58:44 -0400
A Knee’d for Answers https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5110-a-knee-d-for-answers https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5110-a-knee-d-for-answers Over the past month, media outlets have been flooded with stories of players in the National Football League (NFL) kneeling for the national anthem. Although former NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick began kneeling for the national anthem last year, the topic continues to spark controversy. These players are peacefully protesting the racial and social injustice that is still present in the United States. Some politicians are distraught with the idea that players are not standing for the flag, furthering the divide of our nation.

What would happen if college athletes decided to ‘take a knee’ during the national anthem? What if it happened at Monmouth?

Editors at The Outlook agreed that Monmouth athletes have the right to peacefully protest, but their opinions varied on how the University and the community would or should react. They also commented on whether or not politics have a place in athletics.

One Outlook editor said that they fully support any athlete that decided to kneel for the national anthem in a form of peaceful protest. “I’ve never seen the act of kneeling during the national anthem as ‘disrespectful’ at all, since kneeling is usually a sign of respect,” said the editor.

“As a woman of color, and a minority in the world (as well as at Monmouth), I would 100 percent stand behind an athlete who decided to take a ‘stand’ by kneeling,” said another editor.

While student-athletes undoubtedly have the right to peacefully protest and voice their views, the University and the community may show some resistance.

“With the University – and West Long Branch – being a conservative area, I feel that there might be some negative thoughts about or said to the athletes and the athletics as a whole,” said an editor.

Another editor acknowledges that there would be backlash and said, “It is unfortunate that there would be a consequence for peaceful protesting, but I understand that with the university climate and our athletic hierarchy that something would happen.”

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 25 Oct 2017 20:39:49 -0400
The Outlook Editorial Board Discusses Gun Control in the Nation https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5036-the-outlook-editorial-board-discusses-gun-control-in-the-nation https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/5036-the-outlook-editorial-board-discusses-gun-control-in-the-nation Following the Las Vegas shooting on Oct. 1, gun control legislation has once again come into the spotlight.

The mass shooting, which took place during a Jason Aldean performance at the Route 91 Harvest Festival on the Las Vegas Strip, left 58 people dead and 489 injured. The devastation occurred in a period of less than ten minutes, according to police.

The shooter, Stephen Paddock of Mesquite, NV, had fired hundreds of rounds from the 32nd floor of the nearby Mandalay Bay hotel, and allegedly had stockpiled 23 weapons, as well as attachments such as bump fire stocks which allowed him to increase the speed at which he fired.  Police also found that he had set up cameras in the hotel corridors near his room, presumably to monitor those who might be approaching.

The backlash after the shooting was immediate. However, as more details came out about the quantity of the weapons, and the types of guns – including AR-15 variants and Kalashnikov rifles – debate began to focus on the specific weaponry used, and the general broad parameters of gun laws.

“I definitely think gun control is too broad,” said one Outlook editor. “There is more that should be done, and I think that is evident in the recent tragedies in the past years that have involved guns. There should be stricter gun laws, making it difficult to obtain a gun, or at least a very extensive process to get one.”

“I think they should be stricter on the types of guns that one can purchase,” added another editor. “Sure, people have the right to have a gun for protection, but they shouldn’t need something unnecessarily powerful.”

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 11 Oct 2017 10:28:00 -0400
Has Parking Improved? https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4994-has-parking-improved https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4994-has-parking-improved Over the years, commuter students have sometimes questioned what the University has done to improve parking, and what they have done to make sure all students are able to arrive to classes safely and in a timely manner.

While the efforts to do this have not gone unnoticed, students today are asking whether they have done enough, and some are finding it more difficult than ever to find a spot and make it to classes on time.

    “Parking has gotten worse from my first year at Monmouth to particularly this year,” said one editor. “It seems that even if you’re a half hour early to class you’re still stuck driving around the parking lot.”

 Another editor said, “This is my senior year and the parking is worse than I’ve ever seen it. I don’t know if it’s increasing class sizes or what, but its way more crowded.”

 One editor said, “In my first two years at Monmouth, the only time I had a problem finding a parking spot was on Mondays at Monmouth, but now it feels like every day is Mondays at Monmouth.”

Students who have never had any issue with attendance have now been late to their classes, despite arriving to the campus early. “For a night class last year, I was driving around the parking lot for a half hour and was a half hour late to class because of it,” said one editor.

Another said, “Several times I have been on campus half an hour before class and I ended up being half an hour late to class because of looking for a parking spot.”

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 04 Oct 2017 09:59:27 -0400
Editors Talk Title IX Changes https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4964-editors-talk-title-ix-changes https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4964-editors-talk-title-ix-changes Education Secretary Betsy DeVos has recently announced that the Department would be making significant changes to past Title IX guidelines and how schools investigate and process cases of sexual misconduct by removing the Obama-era 2011 “Dear Colleague” letter.

Editor’s at The Outlook had varying opinions on whether this change is necessary, talked of the importance of Title IX and what it means to current college students, both men and women alike, and also commented on whether the University is doing enough to protect their students from gender discrimination and sexual misconduct.

One editor spoke of the importance of Title IX in schools, and said “I think it’s important because Title IX covers more than just assault - it also assures that there will be no gender-based discrimination, which I think is really important.”

“I think that there is not enough done, generally, when it comes to sexual assault/misconduct, but that’s more than just a Title IX issue - that’s just a general part of the legal system that needs to be worked on. Overall, I think Title IX does what it is supposed to do,” the staffer continued.

Another editor felt that past Title IX guidelines should not be altered; however, it is possible that the current guidelines don’t do enough to protect the accused.

“In some cases, the accused may not be given fair trial, and while assault cases are often emotional and difficult, the accused also deserves a fair trial,” the editor said.

“Also, if the survivors can get an even better chance of being protected with new guidelines, then so be it. However, with past comments from the President himself on sexual assault and other statements from those in his administration, I don’t think that DeVos will do anything to protect survivors,” he/she continued.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 27 Sep 2017 10:41:31 -0400
Technology in the Classroom https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4917-technology-in-the-classroom https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4917-technology-in-the-classroom The use of electronics in classrooms seems to be an ever-evolving topic – whether laptops are helpful or distracting; whether students take notes better if they write or type them. If a student is distracted on their computer, is it their choice as to whether they want to waste class time, or does it distract other students?

Most professors seem to have banned phones easily enough, with almost all syllabi banning them from class use, but sometimes computers, laptops, and tablets are a more complicated matter, since they can be used both positively and negatively. Further difficulties arise when every professor seems to have their own policy on the matter.

“Most of my professors this semester have banned technology,” said one editor. “Four of them are communication professors, and I think that that’s a department that is a lot stricter with electronics lately.”

Lorna Schmidt, a professor in the communication department and director of advising at the University, offered up several possible reasons as to why electronic devices may be banned. “Most of the classes are interactive, really face-to-face interactive,” she explained. “We don’t want people distracted by technology. Facebook is always there, there’s the little notifications popping up – it can be distracting.”

Schmidt’s own policies mostly ban electronic devices, unless students have a specific need for them, such as researching a topic or doing group work. She also highlighted another issue – that even when students are using computers for academic use, some students who type slowly or can’t type without looking at the keyboard can be distracted by that, and in some cases, students are irritated by the sounds of keys clacking.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (EDITORIAL STAFF) Editorial Wed, 20 Sep 2017 10:04:02 -0400
Time for Change https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4885-time-for-change https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/120-volume-90-fall-2017-spring-2018/4885-time-for-change There’s something unnerving yet exciting about starting a new school year.

For those who are just starting out, get ready for one of the most transformative experiences of your lives…no pressure.

A new school year brings new opportunities for involvement and growth.

It is a chance to be the person you’ve always hoped you’d be, and there is something nerve-wracking but ultimately beautiful in that.

Sure, there’s always the fear of letting yourself down and realizing that maybe you weren’t as good at something as you thought you were.

But the anticipation of new experiences and the idea that maybe this year will be your year, far outweighs the negative, at least, in my opinion.

This school year, there will be challenges for many, including myself.

 I have always been enchanted with the idea that I have another year of school to improve myself.

Having another year to face new challenges, accomplish new goals, and see the growth that I had hoped I would see has been one of the highlights of my time here.

But this year is different; it is different because it is my last one.

As a senior, I am seeing that no longer will I have the same opportunities that this University has given me in the past.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (COURTNEY BUELL | EDITOR-IN-CHIEF) Editorial Wed, 13 Sep 2017 11:00:05 -0400
Welcome to the Family, Prospective Student… https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/89-volume-88-fall-2016-volume-89-spring-2017/4430-welcome-to-the-family-prospective-student https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/89-volume-88-fall-2016-volume-89-spring-2017/4430-welcome-to-the-family-prospective-student Dear Prospective Student:

We, The Outlook Staff, want to welcome you to what could be the most incredible college experience in your lifetime. Deciding to go to Monmouth University will be the greatest life decision you make; trust us, we know from experience.

There is so much to love about being an MU student. It’s impossible to share with you every single thing that we cherish on this campus, but we can try. You’ve heard the commercials and we’re sure you have heard about how we are located right by the beach and have a to-die-for, beautiful campus (#7 on Buzzfeed’s Top 25 Most Beautiful Campuses in the World in 2015), but it doesn’t mean anything until you actually step foot on campus.

One editor claimed, “I immediately fell in love with the campus. It was close to the beach, it was beautiful, and everyone seemed so happy and nice. I knew that this was undoubtedly the place I needed to go to.”

Another editor added, “It isn’t just that you can sit on the beach and relax when it’s warm. There are a lot of good places to eat that are on the beach and you can also walk the boardwalk when it’s nice out near Pier Village and get ice cream at Strollo’s Lighthouse. There’s the typical stuff to do like most towns, but the beach as an everyday view is an added bonus.”

Besides what surrounds the campus, the campus itself is an absolute joy to be on as well. Some of our favorite buildings on campus are the OceanFirst Bank Center, Jules L. Plangere Center, and Wilson Hall. You tend to fall in love with the building you are in the most. For most editors, that means the Jules L. Plangere Center, which is the building for communication studies.

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (THE OUTLOOK STAFF) Editorial Wed, 19 Apr 2017 12:28:31 -0400
Reporting on Sexual Assault https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/89-volume-88-fall-2016-volume-89-spring-2017/4400-reporting-on-sexual-assault https://outlook.monmouth.edu/index.php/opinion/editorial/89-volume-88-fall-2016-volume-89-spring-2017/4400-reporting-on-sexual-assault It is uncomfortable and almost unspeakable, but we have to talk about sexual assault on campus. According to the National Sexual Violence Resource Center, 1 in 5 college women and 1 in 16 college men who have likely been a victim of some form of sexual assault.

The Outlook Staff weighs in to discuss the awareness of sexual assault on campus and the impact it has had as April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month. This semester the Monmouth University Police Department (MUPD) stated that they have received two reports of sexual misconduct and one report of sexual assault on campus. However, many editors believe that there are more sexual assaults and misconducts on campus and off campus that go unreported.

One editor brought up the statistic that The Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network (RAINN) provided: only 20 percent of sexual assault cases are reported on college campuses. According to the University site, “Many victims do not report because they are afraid of what others may say or think. They feel like what happened is their fault because they were drinking or they went someplace they had been warned could be dangerous.”

Read More ...

]]>
s1074188@monmouth.edu (THE OUTLOOK STAFF) Editorial Wed, 12 Apr 2017 16:15:04 -0400