Opinion - The Outlook https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion Tue, 22 Oct 2019 17:26:54 -0400 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb outlook@monmouth.edu (The Outlook) How to Relieve Stress https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6894-how-to-relieve-stress https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6894-how-to-relieve-stress Relieve Stress

If you went through Kindergarten up to Senior Year of High School, then you probably experienced minimal stress with school, if any at all. However, once you got to college, there is a high chance that stress came into your life and took over your whole demeanor. I know this because this is what I have experienced.

I never knew what stress was like until the college workload took over my life. I have constant stomachaches and my chest feels as if I am going to explode. Therefore, I took some time for myself to figure out how I was going to manage my personal life, social life, 20 hours at work, and a full-time schedule.

So, here I am 5 years later and set to graduate in December and I think I have figured out a few ways that help to relieve my stress.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (SAL LAGROTTERIA || STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 16 Oct 2019 11:03:47 -0400
Relationships in College https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6893-relationships-in-college https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6893-relationships-in-college default article imageRelationships can be a big responsibility when you are navigating college and all of your obligations. Relationships in college can be a blissful experience for some, while others find them challenging and complicated.

Many people define relationships differently—it can be open, exclusive, official, or together but in that unofficial stage. One’s definition and personal preferences when it comes to relationships can greatly influence whether having a relationship in college is a pleasant experience.

With being in a relationship, you learn so much about yourself. Such as, what you deserve and the standards you hold for yourself. It also eases the need to impress others when you have someone.

When you are in a relationship at this age, you can still have your own life. You can still go out with friends and live your life while having a significant other.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (LAUREN DEMARCO || STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 16 Oct 2019 11:01:45 -0400
Fall Fun https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6867-fall-fun https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6867-fall-fun default article imageFall is approaching faster than we know it! The relentless summer weather and the up and down temperature change does not falter our seasonal excitement. Once October first comes a heightened aroma of changing leaves, Pumpkin Spice, Apple Cider, and most importantly, Halloween hits!

Fall activities have been a repetitive and traditional idea surrounding the fall season. Whether its pumpkin or apple picking or bonfires it’s good to keep up with tradition.

But one should always take a step out of their comfort zone and try something new. It could also be something you could do right at home if you don’t feel like leaving your space.

If you plan on staying home and feel like being creative, head outside, grab some leaves, and paint them. You could also make your own scarecrows with things you find around the house or outside, which is something different for the season. If you’re more of a foodie, there are hundreds of fall recipes waiting to be made. Simply speaking, you could try caramel apples, trail mix, or pumpkin spice cookies!

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (CARLENE SANTOS || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 02 Oct 2019 11:52:30 -0400
Should You Watch Sports on TV? https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6864-should-you-watch-sports-on-tv https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6864-should-you-watch-sports-on-tv Sports TVWatching sports of any kind takes a certain type of person. You do not have to be an athletic person to watch sports, but to actually sit down and watch them in any capacity you have to understand them or be willing to learn about them.

For some sports, it is best to watch in person and be there in the moment, whereas for others it is better to lounge around in your pajamas watching it on television. The best way to decide what way to watch a sport is how big of a fan you are, do you like cheering and is food more important.

No matter where you are watching there are rules to be followed, like shut up and enjoy the game. Commentary is unnecessary unless you are cheering, yelling at the other team or at the bad call the refs made. Another rule is that food must be included, whether it’s a stadium hot dog or some pizza on the couch, it is not a sports game without the proper game food.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (SHANNON MCGORTY || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 02 Oct 2019 10:55:59 -0400
"How Dare You" https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6838-how-dare-you https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6838-how-dare-you How Dare YouGreta Thunberg is a 16-year-old Swedish climate activist who has been making major headlines this past week. She led a massive strike on September 20th to protest how the government is neglecting to address the climate crisis. She spoke at the Climate Action Summit, hosted by the United Nations on September 23rd, in front of numerous politicians.

Thunberg has not only made such an expansive impact with her own generation but with the entire world. She is a young woman speaking up about the monumental issues with our climate and with the way politicians are not actively helping.

Thunberg, at the Climate Action Summit, said, “This is all wrong. I shouldn’t be up here. I should be back in school, on the other side of the ocean, yet you all come to us young people for hope. How dare you. You have stolen my dreams and my childhood with your empty words, and yet I’m one of the lucky ones. People are suffering. People are dying. Entire ecosystems are collapsing. We are in the beginning of a mass extinction, and all you can talk about is money and fairy tales of eternal economic growth. How dare you.”

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (Alex Sheriff) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 25 Sep 2019 12:02:37 -0400
Horoscopes https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6837-horoscopes https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6837-horoscopes HoroscopesHave you ever read your horoscope and found that everything you read was completely accurate? This happens most of the time while reading my own horoscope. It is fascinating to read your horoscope from time to time to discover what is true and what is false.

There are times when I will be reading my horoscope and can relate every situation that is going on in my life to its predictions. Occasionally, my horoscope will say things that make me think a little bit more and reflect on what is going on in my life and how I should better myself.

I will say, I do not believe in astrological signs entirely but I do have a strong interest in reading horoscopes. I believe things happen for a reason and that we try to correlate our own personal lives with our horoscopes as an explanation as to why things happen.

I do not believe in everything I read in a horoscope. Just because a horoscope says that something in particular will happen does not mean it will. Unfortunately, life is not that predictable. Everyone is going to have their own opinions and beliefs about astrology and whether or not they believe in it but I find it interesting and entertaining.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (LAUREN DEMARCO || STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 25 Sep 2019 12:01:14 -0400
Benefits of Exercise https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6809-benefits-of-exercise https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6809-benefits-of-exercise default article imageExercise? I thought you said extra fries. I know, I would rather go through the McDonald’s drive-thru than put on those workout clothes too. However, I have found that when I do take the initiative to get in those workout clothes and break that sweat I feel a thousand times better.

 I dread working out, I argue with myself for hours and I take forever to put those workout clothes on. When working out finally wins, I feel so much better about myself. Exercising is an amazing form of self-love. It relieves my stress, helps me get those nine hours of sleep, gives me more energy, gives me more body confidence, and overall I feel better and happier throughout my day.

As college students, we experience tremendous amounts of stress daily from balancing classes, jobs, a social life, and those unavoidable, random, stress-inducing circumstances life loves to throw at us. In addition, this new social media-saturated age we live in creates stress with the constant need to know everything and to compare ourselves to everyone. Exercise is a huge outlet for college students to put down that book, close that app and to focus on themselves.

Stress really takes a toll on the body. It makes it hard to get a good night’s rest, impedes focus, induces a loss of appetite or cravings of unhealthy foods, causes a sluggish feeling throughout the day, etc. The combination of all these factors wreaks havoc on the skin and causes breakouts, dryness, and dullness.

The less stress you have the fewer skin issues you encounter. This is why working out is so important, it is an amazing outlet to alleviate all these negative effects of stress.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (LAUREN SALOIS || OPINION ARTICLE) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 18 Sep 2019 11:25:11 -0400
Letter to the Editor: Let’s Stop Deleting Student Schedules for Late Payment Two Weeks before The Semester https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6808-letter-to-the-editor-let-s-stop-deleting-student-schedules-for-late-payment-two-weeks-before-the-semester https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6808-letter-to-the-editor-let-s-stop-deleting-student-schedules-for-late-payment-two-weeks-before-the-semester default article imageWhy does our University withdraw students from classes for late payment two weeks before the start of the semester? 

This semester, 290 MU students were deregistered from classes for late payment.  The skyrocketing costs of college puts an enormous strain on families, particularly on families with more than one child attending college. 

One of the students deregistered this semester has four siblings in college, two of whom also attend Monmouth.  Can you imagine what it must be like for parents trying to put five kids through college?  Her parents are our society’s real-life superheroes and deserve to be treated better than this.

My sense is we’re swatting flies with sledgehammers with this family unfriendly deregistration policy.  Many of the 290 Monmouth students found themselves in shouting matches with parents over being withdrawn from classes, at least that’s what would be happening in my house.  My daughter would have a heart attack if withdrawn from classes two weeks before the start of the semester. 

And it’s during these needless family fights that faculty advisors like me are asked to reach out to students to offer help in reregistering for classes, which is socially awkward and a huge waste of time.

Re-registration takes a half hour per student since there’s no longer a record of the original registration once withdrawn. 

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (JOSEPH PATTEN, PH.D. || ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 18 Sep 2019 11:22:42 -0400
The Keto Diet https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6807-the-keto-diet https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6807-the-keto-diet Keto DietA majority of people wish to have a “shredded” body that is toned all over with a six-pack.

When motivated individuals decide it is time for a change they tend to either seek a gym membership or choose a strict diet, like ketogenic, in order to change their body style. The more successful ones choose both and are strict on both sides of the scale.

Ketogenic or “keto” is a diet that helps people to reach their fitness goals by losing weight and getting toned. The keto diet is a proven way to lose weight by avoiding foods high in carbohydrates.

So, sadly, no pasta and bagels, foods that are extremely difficult to stay away from in Jersey. The foods allotted will have very low or little to no carbohydrates, such as meat and vegetables. The diet also encourages the intake of foods high in fat, like nuts and avocados.

 I personally went on this diet last summer and I aimed for less than 20 grams of carbs per day. This was an extremely hard goal, some days I could not stay at 20 grams and would intake around 50 grams instead.

Along with the diet, I would also go to the gym religiously at least six times a week. Once one sees progress in the mirror and the formation of the body going in the right direction, it is hard to cheat or stop.

I woke up early and went to the gym before work every weekday and sometimes during the weekend too. After my workout, I would go home and eat two to three scrambled eggs, bacon and sometimes an avocado and a protein shake too.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (HUNTER GOLDBERG || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 18 Sep 2019 11:19:22 -0400
Is a Planner a Necessity? https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6793-is-a-planner-a-necessity https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6793-is-a-planner-a-necessity Planner Necessity

With the start of school and student life seeming to get busier and busier each year, a planner has become an absolute necessity. With our nonstop use of technology, there has been thousands of ‘planner apps’ created to help us better navigate our busy lives, such as Google Calendar, Apple Calendar, Calendars by Readdle, and Planner Pro Daily Calendar. It sends you notifications such as texts and emails through the app all to remind you to change the time of that important meeting that you were set to do.

For the past couple of years, I’ve had a calendar on my dresser that I use to note upcoming tests, work times, and what my social life plans are, but that’s the extent of my “organized planner.” Fast forward to my birthday this past spring, one of my best friends and her fiancé gifted me a true planner and it has become life changing.

There was a time not too long ago where I attempted to remember all of my plans, events, school work, etc. mentally and it became too overwhelming (as it would for anybody). Staying organized is the key to feeling less apprehensive about what you have to get done.

According to the Just Plain Marie website, there are six different types of planners: include personal and daily; home and family; finance and budget; bullet journals; work projects and health; and diet and fitness. Depending on your personal preference, planners come in many different sizes and yes, textures. You could go from a high-end leather planner to a small pocket size planner made out of hard cardboard paper.

Planners can be expensive though, don’t be fooled. They range in cost from really cheap to expensive. There are plenty of cheap options for those who do not want to break the bank

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (SAL LAGROTTERIA || STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 11 Sep 2019 12:35:31 -0400
Goals = Success https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6791-goals-success https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/6791-goals-success default article imageGoals are always a great thing to have for yourself when starting a new school year. Having goals are important because of the directions it can lead us. Setting goals and sticking to them can lead to achievement.  Some of my goals for this school year are to be better at prioritizing my schoolwork, time management, traveling, and pursuing new hobbies.

This year, I will have the motivation to be better at time management, by doing all my homework the day it is assigned. This will give me the opportunity to plan my week out with assignments that are due and exams that I have to study for. (Also, by prioritizing the assignments I will know what I have to get done before moving onto the next task.)

Every school year is different from the last; a fresh start to explore and try new things. Whether it is exploring new hobbies or clubs during the school year, I think this is something that will benefit me in the future.

I recently joined Monmouth University’s online publication, The Verge. Also, I am continuing to write for the student newspaper, The Outlook. I thought that it would be beneficial to join and explore different things that will help me achieve my goals within my major.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (LAUREN DEMARCO || STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 11 Sep 2019 12:32:57 -0400