Opinion - The Outlook https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion Thu, 02 Jul 2020 05:24:05 -0400 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb outlook@monmouth.edu (The Outlook) Maintaining Healthy Relationships https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7260-maintaining-healthy-relationships https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7260-maintaining-healthy-relationships default article imageDuring this time, maintaining healthy relationships are really important to many people. As time is passing, all we have is our relationships with our family and friends.

Now more than ever we all need to be able to support one another as well as listening through this difficult time. Even though we are all isolated from our loved ones there are still many ways we can maintain our relationships. A few suggestions that we can consider in order to maintain healthy relationships during these times are; calling, zooming, and doing activities with family. However, remaining to be safe and cautious is what we still should be doing. I know it has not been the easiest for everyone.

For me, I have been trying keep busy and remain doing my daily tasks. But I will say that the one thing that’s been easy for me is talking to my aunts and cousin almost every day. I think we would all be lost if cell phones did not exist. Luckily, we do have these devices so everyone can keep in touch as we remain in quarantine.

Having relationships with family and friends are supposed to be healthy and enjoyable. Being cooped up inside is a perfect time to start focusing on maintaining and improving healthy relationships. I believe the number one thing that can help any healthy relationship, especially having to deal with this pandemic, is to be supportive. Being supportive is an important concept to really have for yourself and others around you. We all have to be able to listen and respect one another emotions. As always, you never know what a person is going through until they tell or express it to you. So being able to be supportive to your love ones is an important characteristic to have.

Another characteristic to have when trying to maintain healthy relationships is being be able to respect each other and ones’ feelings. As many of us are all going through different challenges and experiences we must be compassionate.

You may be asking why is this really important for people to do? To answer that, many people can’t physically be in each other’s presents. So now more than ever, it might be empowering to try and reach out to the people you care for.

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (LAUREN DEMARCO | CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Fri, 08 May 2020 18:27:30 -0400
A Farewell to Seniors | Shannon McGorty's Senior Goodbye https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7257-a-farewell-to-seniors-shannon-mcgorty-s-senior-goodbye https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7257-a-farewell-to-seniors-shannon-mcgorty-s-senior-goodbye default article imageSaying goodbye is hard, but this year's graduating class never got the chance to say it. The seniors did not get to thank their mentors, pass the torch to the next class, or enjoy a stroll around campus one last time. A lot has been taken from the class of 2020 and it is not something they can ever get back.

The past few years have been the best and worst years of their lives. Seniors have cried and laughed, they have felt pain and fear while simultaneously feeling joy and pleasure. Nobody asked for the world to get paused. The times we are living in are hard and uncertain. Having to wear face coverings and being locked in homes is something no one imagined would become a possibility.

Unfortunately, our seniors will not be able to walk across a stage to receive their diplomas. They will not hear the roar of the crowd as they shake the president's hand at graduation. One thing they will know is that even in times of difficulty, fear, loneliness and confusion, they were still able to succeed. Today’s seniors have faced these trying times with tremendous strength, and together they will triumph.

Although this chapter is complete, it feels unfinished. The class of 2020 never got to turn their tassels, leaving the last page of this chapter unturned. Many “what ifs” remain unanswered. The graduates will never have those answers, but they will always have each other and the rest of their hawk family standing beside them. The class of 2020 can now turn their tassels. Your work is complete, your job is done. Get on your way and go have some fun. Congratulations, seniors, you did it. You graduated.

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (SHANNON MCGORTY | STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 06 May 2020 15:29:33 -0400
Tips for Success During Online Classes https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7252-tips-for-success-during-online-classes https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7252-tips-for-success-during-online-classes default article imageOne of the biggest challenges regarding online classes is staying focused and productive. Whether it be Netflix, online shopping, or social media, it is super easy to get distracted with all of the things around us. It is important to create a balance between self-instruction and leisure time when it comes to online classes. With these few tips and tricks, you will have some spare time and keep on track with your classes.       

Something that helps me concentrate and make my online classes speed by is listening to music. There are hundreds of studies that prove listening to music while doing work not only improves the quality of your work but makes the time go by quicker while you do it. However, the type of music you listen to might impact your productivity. Listening to music with lyrics can be distracting, especially if you are reading. Try listening to music that is relaxing and does not have any lyrics. Lo-fi beats on Spotify is a great playlist with a handful of options.     

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (GIANNA FERRARO || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Mon, 27 Apr 2020 15:40:15 -0400
Coronavirus vs. Flu https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7251-coronavirus-vs-flu-2 https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7251-coronavirus-vs-flu-2 default article imageNews of the coronavirus outbreak has been captivating media outlets around the world as of late January and it is hard not to stay informed about the deadly illness. The coronavirus is a type of virus that has a bunch of different strains, some of which cause diseases. The virus causing the worldwide pandemic is COVID-19, and its symptoms can look very similar to the flu. According to John Hopkins Medicine, both of these viruses cause a fever, cough, body aches, fatigue, and sometimes vomiting and diarrhea. Symptoms can range mild or severe, and sometimes fatal. Lastly, both have the potential to result in pneumonia.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (GIANNA FERRARO || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Mon, 27 Apr 2020 15:38:14 -0400
Maintaining Long-Distance Relationships During Quarantine https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7250-maintaining-long-distance-relationships-during-quarantine https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7250-maintaining-long-distance-relationships-during-quarantine default article imageSince the coronavirus has spread all over the world, we have all had to adjust to social distancing and self-quarantining. Due to the “new normal” we are currently faced with, couples around the world have been separated while the government tries to contain this deadly virus. Self-quarantining poses the question of how couples who do not live together cope with this new way of living. Although the physical aspects of a relationship are key, there are a few methods to maintain a stable connection during this time of uncertainty.               

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (GIANNA FERRARO || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Mon, 27 Apr 2020 15:37:04 -0400
How to Process Your Emotions During This Difficult Time https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7249-how-to-process-your-emotions-during-this-difficult-time-4 https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7249-how-to-process-your-emotions-during-this-difficult-time-4 default article imageThis is a difficult time for everyone. The world is changing, and things seem to just be getting tougher. But we are all going through this tough time together and trying to handle our emotions in the best way.

During this world-wide pandemic, it is important to focus on your emotions and well-being as social distancing continues. We can all agree that life is so different now that we are dealing with this virus. This time spent at home is making me stop to reflect and appreciate life as it was. I am glad that my family and friends are staying healthy during this critical situation.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (LAUREN DEMARCO || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Mon, 27 Apr 2020 15:34:57 -0400
A Change of Plans: COVID-19 https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7238-a-change-of-plans-covid-19 https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7238-a-change-of-plans-covid-19 default article imageWhen I first entered my last college semester of my undergraduate career, I looked forward to the classes I would take, the people I would meet, and the experiences I would encounter that I truly would hold dearly to my heart forever, specifically my spring break service trip to Guatemala. This all changed when COVID-19 hit.

This outbreak was certainly not expected, and although I may have resented Monmouth at the time for stripping me of my service to Guatemala, I reflect now on it and believe it was ultimately necessary.

“I was eager to use what I learned in class and apply it to my travel experience and bring good intentions to Guatemala,” Tiffany Tereshkina, a fellow classmate of mine, had told me. “Seeing how fast COVID-19 unraveled in our tri-state area, I was happy with the University’s decision and believe cancelling our travel was the right thing to do. Instead of being in a foreign county, far away from our families my classmates and I are home with our families riding out the storm”.

The corona virus, which causes a range of mild to severe fevers and respiratory symptoms, changed everything. A life changing opportunity that I was not only looking forward to for months, but had prepared for 7 weeks, taken in a blink of an eye, along with the remainder of my senior year, commencement, and memories I wanted to treasure forever.

In Guatemala Public Health (HE 376), Dr. Hirschler prepared us with various class discussions, articles, and documentaries to enhance our experience on the trip, and even a self-defense class that would help us to facilitate a variety of lessons we would deliver in Guatemala. During my preparation, I had learned of the harsh reality Guatemalan’s face in such a poor country that is plagued by violence. We were expected to help communities on a more intimate scale by delivering water filtration systems to make up for their lack of clean water, construct bunk beds for large families who piled into a single bed at night, teach lessons to domestic violence victims who were sheltered away from their families and abusers, along with a cemetery clean up to help beautify and show our respects to the dead and the community, contributing to the country’s economy by purchasing items at local markets, and hiking the Pacaya volcano at sunrise (that for many of us would be our first time on a volcano).

Read More ...

]]>
s1108940@momouth.edu (KAITLIN GALLIGAN | CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Tue, 14 Apr 2020 18:19:40 -0400
Faculty Members Respond to Homophobic Incident at Basketball Game https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7219-faculty-members-respond-to-homophobic-incident-at-basketball-game https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7219-faculty-members-respond-to-homophobic-incident-at-basketball-game default article imageWe strongly condemn the homophobic harassment displayed by certain members of the Monmouth University student body at the home basketball game on March 6, 2020.

 Monmouth University must be a community free from hatred, bigotry and discrimination. All people should feel welcomed and accepted on Monmouth University’s campus. Any harassment or threat to others, whether they are visitors or members of our community, is a threat to the very foundation of empathy and understanding upon which our university is built. Monmouth University should strive to be an intellectual beacon of humanity and compassion so that all those who visit know we hold our members to the highest standards of excellence.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (PROGRAM FOR GENDER AND INSTERSECTIONALITY STUDIES FACULTY) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Fri, 27 Mar 2020 13:40:12 -0400
Unplug and Unwind https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7211-unplug-and-unwind https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7211-unplug-and-unwind Unplug Unwind 1Technology has taken our society by storm and it is highly unlikely that it hasn’t influenced some aspect of our lives. We rely on devices so much more than we ever did in the past. Currently, our cell phones have become our GPS, music players, communication devices, and gaming devices all in one. It is no wonder why we spend so much time on them.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (NICOLE BENWELL || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 26 Feb 2020 13:51:01 -0500
Regular, Hybrid, Online or 3-Hour Class? https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7210-regular-hybrid-online-or-3-hour-class https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7210-regular-hybrid-online-or-3-hour-class Regular Hybrid ClassRegistering for classes is coming up and students need to decide what type of classes they are going to register for. Monmouth offers a variety of class forms: regular, hybrid, online, and three-hours.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (HUNTER GOLDBERG || CONTRIBUTING WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 26 Feb 2020 13:48:06 -0500
An Inspiring Professor https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7209-an-inspiring-professor https://outlook.monmouth.edu/opinion/160-volume-92-fall-2019-spring-2020/7209-an-inspiring-professor default article imageThere have been many times that a professor has motivated me and been extremely helpful. I am a senior communication major in journalism and public relations. I have enjoyed all the professors I have had the chance to have at Monmouth.

My journey at Monmouth has been great as well as constructive for myself because of my professors. There has been an abundance of helpful professors for me throughout my four years.

Read More ...

]]>
s1270704@monmouth.edu (LAUREN DEMARCO || STAFF WRITER) Volume 92 (Fall 2019 - Spring 2020) Wed, 26 Feb 2020 13:46:30 -0500